The PHILCO Phorum
Checking B+ voltage. . . .newbie - Printable Version

+- The PHILCO Phorum (https://philcoradio.com/phorum)
+-- Forum: Philco Radio Discussions (https://philcoradio.com/phorum/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Philco Electronic Restoration (https://philcoradio.com/phorum/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: Checking B+ voltage. . . .newbie (/showthread.php?tid=16277)

Checking B+ voltage. . . .newbie - conceptchris - 02-21-2017

I am relatively new to the electronic restoration and understanding of these old sets, so bear with me here.  I can solder, replace parts, caps, controls, use a multimeter, but as far as understanding, processing, and diagnosing electronic issues, I am a novice.  I have been reading up on things to check and do when it comes to the electronic restoration of these sets and understand most of it except that I have not found a good description of how to actually check B+ voltage or what this even tells us.  I have a vague idea, but no hypothetical light bulb has gone on for me with this.  I have 2 very similar sets doing different things and I was going to try and attach these sets as real world applications involving the testing of B+ voltage and what this can tell me in these 2 cases, if anyone has the time to explain.