Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Help with a Marantz 2220B receiver

Hi all. I'm not good with solid state items but I know several of you have great knowledge working on them.

I recently picked up a Marantz 2220B receiver that I'd like to use in my shop. It worked but had slight distortion when the volume was turned up. I decided to recap the unit and ordered all the caps. I ended up replacing all capacitors and the unit has much more power now but still has the distortion when turned up. The service manual mentioned setting the power supply voltage on 2 pins to 35VDC (at idle) by turning a pot on the supply board. I'm using a VTVM as they mentioned but I'm only getting just under 20 volts when the pot is maxed. At 20 volts the distortion is much better but I'm wondering what to look at next? Should I disconnect the load and measure the voltage?

Can you put the link to sch if it exist?

Is 35V the output amp's power or one of the preamps?

It is strange they regulate the main power if this is what it is, usually it is simple rectified filtered unregulated voltage.

20V if the 35V is intended, could limit the output and result in clipping distortion at large volume.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Hi Mike,
The 35V is applied to the main amplifier. Here is a link to the schematic. If the link doesn't work I can try to scan and post it.
Thanks for the help!

http://akdatabase.org/AKview/displayimag...m=1&pos=43

Yes. But there are no pots or regulation for the main voltage. It is rectified by H007 bridge, filtered by C006 4,700uF 63V cap and goes to output amp board P700.
Where have you seen any regulation?

The regulated 35V feeds P500, P300 and P900 but none are the output amp.

What you could do is disconnect one of them at a time and see if the voltage goes back to 35V or so, then you woud know who loads it.