Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 42 380 Hums well but does not know the words

Hi:
Just obtained a Philco 42-380 and was trying it out to see if it worked. Nice radio with great cabinet for restoration. Problem, When I turn it on it just hums, with no change when the volume is adjusted, or tuned to another station or band.

I pulled all the tubes and tested same, most were OK. A few were in the questionable range, the two 42s and one of the 7B7 tubes.

It seems like perhaps a bad capacitor, or capacitors, especially with no change when the volume control is sdjusted, just the same loud hum.

Two questions in light of the fact I am a novice:

1. What do you think is wrong and what should I try first?

2. Do you know of a good trouble shooting book for these radios that describes various problems and what to look for and and how to repair the problem?

Thanks much for the help,

God bless one and all,

Dave B

My guess would be that the power supply electrolytics are gone. The very first thing to do with any old radio is to replace these capacitors to prevent damage to the radio's power transformer and to get the hum issue out of the way. When the caps are bad you are putting pulsating DC out on the power supply lines, thus the hum.

Harv

Harv:

In that I am a newbie, which of the electrolytic capacitors are for the the power supply. I have the schematic, could you give me the values or part number. I noted that perhaps two of the electrolytic's were replaced at some prior point in that there are two big new ones under the chase, but I don't know which ones. So any advice you could offer is greatly appreciated. Further, I plan to order a cap kit for the radio and replace them all, Again thanks .

God bless,

Dave

Hello David B, Welcome! I took a quick look at the JF Riders schematic for the Philco mod 42-380 parts list.