Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Recap Question

I'm about to begin recapping 2 Philco 620's. For the electrolytics, I was going to order a 10uF 500V and 20uF 500V. For all other caps I was planning on ordering all at 630V. Is this reasonable? I'm new to working on these old radios, and want to make sure I'm not missing anything.

Also, is it generally true that the mica caps will not need to be replaced? I'm placing an order and want to make sure it is complete.

Derek

Hi Derek

You could use 450V electrolytics, but what you specified is just fine. Taking into consideration today's higher line voltage, the unfiltered DC from the rectifier tube will be around 350-375V.

Most of us use 600 or 630V metalized film capacitors, not only for the safety factor but for ease of stocking parts; you know, why bother with 200 or 400V units when 630V units will do, and are small enough to fit inside old cardboard tubular shells (if you restuff your caps)? Icon_smile

As for mica caps. For a long time, the universal school of thought was that micas were very stable and not prone to breakdown. This is no longer the case; as the original micas continue to age, even they are beginning to break down and require replacement. So, if you don't want to have to go back into your radio later on, you might wish to consider replacing the micas now, and be done with it.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Thanks Ron.

If you don't mind, I have a few more questions regarding the caps.

1. Are the caps that are said to be part of another part replaceable( ie the compensating caps or the 1pF that is part of the tuning cap )?

2. What's the difference between a Bakelite block and a Twin Bakelite block?

3. Part 67 says it is an 8uF & 8uF Electrolytic. I take it that this is a multi-section cap. Do I need to replace with the same?

Thanks for all of the help. I'm just getting started in this, and need all the help I can get.

Derek

Derek

1. No.