Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco radio from 1971 Ford F100

Hello,

Once in a while when I turn on the radio (Philco part no. DITA-18806) in my 1971 ford F100 pickup, it works fine. However, most of the time I can't get a station to come in. It makes noises as I turn the tuner dial but that's all. I have no experience with the inside of a radio. Should I make an attempt to repair it? If so, is there a book on the subject? I've enjoyed learning how to repair things on the truck as things go wrong including overhauling the engine and some work on the drive train. Repairing the radio could be another interesting challenge but I don't want to invest a lot of time and money in equipment for a one time repair.

Thanks,

Steve L

You mentioned "most of the time I can't get a station to come in." Does that mean that sometimes you CAN receive stations?

A few options come to mind. First, are you in a weak signal area where an antenna problem could result in *NO* reception?

How about the voltage at the radio's terminals? Is it up to par? (12v +).

In the 'no reception' mode are you hearing noise at plenty of volume?

The early 70s were particularly bad years for anything that has the name Philco.

Thanks for the reply!

>You mentioned "most of the time I can't get a station to come in." Does that mean that sometimes you CAN receive stations?

Yes, when the radio works, it works fine. I can change stations and the signal is strong.

>A few options come to mind. First, are you in a weak signal area where an antenna problem could result in *NO* reception?

I'm in the same place when I get a signal and when I don't so I'm sure that isn't the problem.

>How about the voltage at the radio's terminals? Is it up to par? (12v +).

My tester isn't with me now, I'll try tomorrow but since the radio works so well when it's working I'm guessing that's not the problem.

>In the 'no reception' mode are you hearing noise at plenty of volume?

Yes