Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

replacing filter caps in 37-610

I am relatively new to doing some of this electronic restoration, although I've done much of this sort of thing outside of radios in the past.  My question is, on my 37-610, I have done a cap job but am divided on what to do about the filter caps.  On this chassis there is a single bakelite housing that has the 2 .02uf filter caps inside.  There are 3 separate connection points on the underside and was just wondering how you would go about replacing these.  I have a pair of ceramics to replace with, but it doesn't seem that the original housing is reusable, so, with the 3 connections on the old setup, would the center connection be the common and the 2 outer ones be positive or? The schematic that I have is a bit fuzzy so I'm just wondering what some Philco veterans have done with these. Thanks!

Are you talking about the line filter caps which connect to the AC line cord?

If the bakelite housing is still there you can warm it with a heat gun and push out the old cap and tar, then install the new caps inside. The ground connection is common to both caps for the line filter

http://philcoradio.com/phorum/showthread.php?tid=9107

This is how you restuff them.
read first and go step by step.
if you take shortcuts....well, you will still succeed but with lots more mess created around.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Morzh, thanks for the link, it worked perfectly, another trick learned!

I just got done removing the old filters caps the easy way explained and shown by Morsz on another thread.

Very easy. Did not unsolder a single wire. Heated for just a couple seconds and they pushed right out.