Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 38-116 Code 121

Hi Phorum,

I am restoring a 38-116, Code 121  which I picked up earlier in the month for $100.  I am fortunate to have a 38-116 code 125 parts chassis to pull from too (understanding the circuitry differences between the code 121 and 125).  The parts chassis is missing the on/off and magnetic tuning in/out knob as well as the dial mechanism but it includes the rest. I am in the process of checking the power transformer, audio interstage transformer (which appears bad from some leaked tar beneath it), the output transformer, and field coil for shorts and continuity.  I am also using my Hickock 605A to test the tubes. I will also be replacing all electrolytic and tubular caps and all out of tolerance resistors and testing all the other chokes, coils and transformers along the way.

Anyhow, although I am a novice, I have been in the hobby long enough to know the great resources available on the Phorum and ARF.  I have searched these boards and have compiled over 100 pages of commentary (from many of you!) on how to specifically repair and troubleshoot the 38-116.  I am very grateful for all the knowledge that has been shared online and am carefully reviewing it before I submit a question to the Phorum  - no need to ask something that has already been addressed.

I have gleaned a good deal of info on how to make the power supply safer and to better protect the 75+ year old tubes from power stresses. I was hoping that others whom have done this work before could double check my plan to make sure it is accurate. Here is what I would like to do (provided the transformers check out):  

1) install a polarized plug with hot leg connected to a fuse before the power switch.