Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 81 Questions

Hi All, I am new at learning to restore the Philco radios that I have. One is a model 81 and a model 84. Will start with the 81 first. The first question is do I replace the old line cord with new cloth 2 wire non polarized plug , which is unsafe to do or do I find a polarized plug to fit the end of the cord and not use the original round end. Or is there a replacement old looking polarized end for the new cord. Or do I just use new rubber polarized cord with end already attached. I have not plugged either radio in yet to see what happens. They have not been used for decades. Don 't want to blow anything up or get electricuted. Should I ground to chassis .

What replacement cord should I use on Model 81. Should I switch over to polarized cord. Do the new capacitors stop the chance of hot chassis.

Hi Bill and welcome,
Personally I'd go w/the cloth covered cord as it's looks original.
In the strictest sense most of the time the term Hot Chassis refers
to a set that doesn't use a power transformer and the one side of the
AC line is connected directly to the chassis. If the ac cord is plugged in
w/the hot side of the line going to the chassis you can get a good
shock from it.
This does not describe your model 81 or 84, they both have power
transformers. General overhaul on these sets requires replacement
of all the paper caps, electrolytic caps, carbon resistors. Probably
will need the ant and osc coils repaired.

GL

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

As this is really a separate thread from the question about power cords by another member, this has been split into its own topic.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave