Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Model and date of Philco radio

Hi,

I'm new to Philco radios. I just purchased this one at an estate sale. It was working when I bought it, but after bringing it home, I have not plugged it in. I am not sure how to find the model number, so I would appreciate if anyone can recognize the model and year.

thanks,

earnestly

Welcome
need to post model or pic  
See how to do things in phorum 

Sam

Some day, and that day may never come, I will call upon you to do a service for me. But until that day, accept this justice as a gift
mafiamen2

Inside thee cabinet,,on the side wall,,(label), or give all these smart older / wiser - gentlemen -a tube line up,,,number on each tube in the set,,,just pull one tube out at a time and reinstall in same position,,watch -out for little key ways on some tubes on center post,,,some older tube have pins that are offset,(staggered),,soo,,look careful how you pull them,,,some take a little wiggle to get to move out of all thee pins-----but most of all----don"t, don't grab them by the glass and pull,,,sometimes you can read the numbers on thee glass without pulling,,,,this is just a start,,,,soo,,,cheers.

Oops, I thought I had posted pictures! Would be kind of hard to tell without them. The blue tag on back is mostly gone.

Hi and welcome,
Not sure as the cabinet doesn't  seem to fit any of the gallery pics. From the knobs and bezel it would appear to be from 1933-35. At this point if you a get the chassis out and shoot a few pics of it we can give you a more definitive answer.Also can provide some other technical info.
It is one of Philco's mid level set as it has a shadowmeter.

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

I like it!

Icon_smile

Times I have been electrocuted in 2021