Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 41-285X

I'm new to this phorum & new to owning an old radio.  To be honest, I'm dumb as a rock when it comes to this matter, but anyway, I'm wondering where I might pick up parts for my model?  Right now all I need is a 76-1134 antenna coupler.  Also, on the rear of the chassis there is a toggle switch.  Can someone tell me what it's for?

Hi and welcome to the Phorum,
Good luck on finding the ant coupler, they don't turn up very often. However you may be able to construct one using the info from   http://philcoradio.com/phorum/showthread.php?tid=2599
As for the switch I don't believe it's original to the set so if you can tell me where it's wires go I can probably tell you it's function.

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

The toggle switch sure looks original, but I'll check where the 5 wires go to.  I do have one other question to ask.  Can I safely use compressed air on the chassis to clear out all the built up dust?

herromc
air is fine but go lightly

sam

Some day, and that day may never come, I will call upon you to do a service for me. But until that day, accept this justice as a gift
mafiamen2

Thanks!