Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

1973 Philco Ford TV Help!

Hello everyone,

I recently brought home a 1973 Philco TV in near perfect condition (my first vintage TV so im new to restoration!).
It worked great all weekend, minus recieving only static because I hadnt yet attached a digital antenna or VHF receiver.
This morning I turned it on and all I got was a dead screen, no static or anything. I tried turning the vhf uhf connectors on the back, turning up the brightness all the way, but the screen is blank. 
Is it an electronics issue inside the TV? Maybe something got knocked loose? Any help would be greatly appreciated! What a great TV and I would love to get something on the screen!

Thanks,

Rod

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

I've not worked onTVs so can't really help.

Rod

Welcome.

It would help for you to use a bit more precise language.

First, this:

>>>It worked great all weekend, minus recieving only static....
What does that mean? If it works perfect, it would receive something other that static. Also, any TV with analog antenna (even those made in 21st cebtury) will receive nothing today without the Digital TV adapter.

>>>... but the screen is blank

Does this mean "screen does not light up at all?" - to me "blank screen" means "no image but lights up".

So. The most I understood so far, if I interpreted the last sentence right, the screen is dark no matter what you do.

When turning on before, have you heard "static" sound from inside the TV (high voltage coming on?) Has it since disappeared?
What you have, if this is the case (dark screen) might mean many things but most likely 1) either the High voltage is no longer (better), or 2) the tube is dead (worse). Could be other things.

In any event you will likely need to go inside and fix it if you are savvy enough. If not, TV is an extremely serious and dangerous thing and I would hire a pro.