Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 20A - Electronic Restoration Questions

What do you typically do with that whole tar package in the big tin can?

Throw it away? Keep it? Keep it still in the can?

- Eric

Philco 20A
Zenith T825

I toss them. No use.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Gut the can,,,use can for NEW Capacitors,,,CHEERS

Into the garbage.

Greg

"We are here to laugh at the odds and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us."

I'm very new to the different types of capacitors and where I live, I cannot go to a local store to pick some up, they've got to be ordered online.

Where are you guys finding these high voltage rated caps? The 2 uF film caps with over 400V rating that I'm finding are in the $7 - $10 ranger on Mouser. DigiKey doesn't even have them available...

- Eric

Philco 20A
Zenith T825

http://www.tuberadios.com/capacitors/
Use two 1.mfd in parallel, there 75 c ea.

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Ah! I had completely forgotten about the parallel & series rules for capacitors. Thanks so much! And for the link too Icon_smile

- Eric

Philco 20A
Zenith T825

Since your radio is a 20A rather than a 20, the values of your original filter capacitors are a little different. The 20A was designed to work on 25 to 40 cycle AC so the filter capacitors were a little higher value. My recommendation would be to use a 1.0 uf for the first filter (terminals 1 and 2), a 4.7 uf for the second filter (terminals 1 and 4) and omit the capacitor that parallels the choke (terminals 2 and 6).

Steve

M R Radios   C M Tubes