Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 41-608

I was given this radio before is was condemned to a fire pit. She's in very poor condition. All the information on this site is a bit much. Where am I even to begin? Needs a new power cord, but I believe I'm far from worried about putting power to this ancient girl.

It does not operate, everything is dusty and broken. With so much information here and no idea where to be directed to I'm at a loss. I am an automotive mechanic so schematics are not new to me. However a 12v system is not something I want to just dive into. So, what is everyone's recommendations?

Welcome!

I merged your posts (they didn't appear right away because your first two posts require approval).

My first suggestion is to post some photos of your radio! Icon_smile If you can, take some pics of the insides/chassis, too.

The first thing I do in this case is to pull the chassis out and look everything over carefully. Make note of any obvious missing parts, blown tubes, fried resistors, crumbling wire housings, loose connections, etc. You have the phono in yours, do you want to get that working again too? Do you have a tube tester? You'll need to check those tubes, somehow.

The below is what I could find for technical literature
http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymodel...013432.pdf
http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymodel...013433.pdf

If you don't already have them, you can try ordering a large set of schematics from Philco Repair Bench
http://www.philcorepairbench.com/schematics/