Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Novice questions about restoring 39-7

Hi all! I am a complete novice to restoring radios. I have a 39-7 that I just opened up, today. I can see that several wires need re-insulating, a new power cord is a must and I plan to recap the radio. My first concern is for the speaker. It appears to me to need to be reconed, for sure, but I am also wondering about the piece (not sure what it is called) above the speaker that is very deteriorated. Will it need to be replaced as well? Am I better off finding a replacement speaker for this unit? Thanks for any help!

Attached Files Image(s)

Hi And Welcome,
The part in question is called the output transformer. It has four wires. The important part is that two wires on the back side ( these are called the primary) that go to the 41 tube socket show some resistance (around 200-600 ohms roughly). If they show a much higher resistance or open it's kaput. Would be helpful to see a side view of the spkr too.

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

I've seen many small output transformers that looked like this, that worked just fine; all they needed is a good blow from a canned air duster.
Re-coning - yes, kinda painfully obvious.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.