Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 40-125

Picked this up at a garage sale,needs the same as always which these philco of this age.the one head scratcher I have is that it has a 35 L6 where the ( 7c7 ) should be.Do these 2 tubes match for swap outs? It also has a electrolytic connected to the 8th pin going to the on/off switch.I can not read the size except it reads 25 w.v. ( it may read 20 mfd ). I fail to see this in the riders (10-28).Im fairly new to this hobby so please forgive my level of knowledge on this but any input is very welcome.I know a lot of you guys hate these rubbered wired sets that are very cramped but I kinda of enjoy the challenge (so far).any help is welcome regarding this 35 L6 thank you, harpone1

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

I believe the 35L6 can be used in place of the 35A5 but definitely NOT in the socket that should have the 7C7, the filament voltages for those two tubes are very different. Any chance the 7C7 is in the spot for the 35A5. Someone may have just put them back in wrong.

There are often older repairs in these sets where someone has tacked in an electrolytic because the originals failed.  Sometimes they remove the originals and sometimes they don't.  If its not in the schematic, I would take it out and rebuild using the schematic.  Looks like there was originally two 20 uF electrolytic caps wired on either side of the field coil (and the 2 caps were contained in a single tubular container attached to the chassis wall).  There is a great schematic at http://www.audiophool.com/Philco.html

The rubber wire in the sets between 1939 and 1942 does tend to get brittle and the rubber comes off.  You may need to do a good bit of rewiring.  A how to do that is found at this LINK.

Hi and welcome,