Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Arvin 442 cap question

Hi everyone!

im just getting into radio restoration, and this is the third radio i have attempted repairing. 

the little radio actually still worked when i got it, but it obviously needed recapped and generally gone-over, so i found the schematic and ordered up my caps.

well, like a dummy, i went ahead and ordered one of everything off the parts list, while neglecting to look at the radio itself to see what was actually in there. most everything was correct, except i found wildly different values when it came to the three section electrolytic can cap.

the parts list calls for a 40mfd/150v, a 20mfd/150v, and a 20mfd/25v
the actual can cap in my radio is a 50mfd/150v, 30mfd/150v, and a 100mfd/25v

i know the voltages dont really matter as long as you exceed the working voltage of what was intended to be in there, but im not sure why the capacitances are off by so much. the schematic says that it covers several different models, but it does not specify different can caps for the different models, so that ones got me scratching my head.

i guess the bottom line is i should probably replace the old caps with ones of equal value, regardless of what the schematic says, because the dang thing worked before, therefore it will work again, right?

anyone have any thoughts?

thanks!
Brian

Somebody probably replaced the filters before, but it doesn't really matter, either will work. The only real consideration is the maximum first filter rating for your rectifier tube - you have to look it up.

Here is the deal. If the first filter cap is too large it is like putting a short on the rectifier - well any cap is like putting a short on the rectifier - as it is being charged on power-up. The rectifier is rated to deal with this to a point and it is usually listed in the tube manual.

"I just might turn into smoke, but I feel fine"
http://www.russoldradios.com/

Hi Brian and Merry Christmas,