Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New here w/q's re: Replacing '66 car radio pushbuttons

Hi Everyone, I'm new to the Phorum and glad to be here.

I have a couple of questions about a Philco model 6TPZ vintage am car radio cabinet restoration. First of all can anyone tell me how to remove the plastic pushbuttons for replacement? I've tried to pry them off but I'm afraid I might damage the shafts they're attached to. Also are these pushbuttons still available anywhere? Also are the bullet connectors for these vintage car radios still available and where? Any advice and help would be appreciated.

Thanks !

Steve

Welcome, Steve. Glad to have you here.

This topic has been moved to the Philco-Transitone Auto Radios section since it deals with an auto radio.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

HI:
I restore auto radios , how bad are your push buttons? , If they are not all cracked , you can restore them with very fine sand paper and finish polishing with BRASSO , you 'll be surprise how nice they come out , first try just the BRASSO if there are no deep scraches or chips , The buttons where originally heated and placed on the metal shafts they would then cool down , to remove them you could try to heat them , offen I'll use a sodering gun, getting the old ones off can be a job! , then boil water put your new push buttons in the boiling water heat them up and then push them on the shaft . 66 is a little newer than the radios I usually work on , I do not know of repo buttons, for it , is this a "T" bird or truck ?

BILL Wrote:HI: