Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

B&K RF Signal Generator Repair

Help! Does anyone know where I can get my B&K E200D signal generator repaired. It is solid state and I think that is what is keeping people away.
It worked really good until it quit. No output on any frequency.
I have the manual including schematic and troubleshooting guide.
I found someone in Canada to look at it but shipping one way would be $54.00.

Thanks,

Eric
Lake in the Hills, IL
Member: Philco Phorum, ARF, ARCI & Radiomuseum.org

Eric,

what is wrong with getting an oldie but goodie tube or maybe transistor generator?
I am a professional in both the field of electronics troubleshooting and the field of electronics design, but I would never go for solid state unless it was soooooooo cheap that losing it would be unnoticeable. They will not give you the schematic and there may be proprietory chips, CPLDs, microprocessors with code I have no idea how to fix.....
I never buy equipment I cannot fix myself.

basically what I am afraid of, the repair alone, without shipping, may run you more or at least be comparable to the cost of a new unit. No one really repairs those unless they are under warranty.
What are they, 200-300 bucks?

I have the manual including schematic and troubleshooting guide.

Eric
Lake in the Hills, IL

Well, does it use chips and what kind? Any micros? Does the digital part (interface/display) work and no signal, or nothing works at all?

No chips or micros all components including a few transistors are on circuit boards. The power light goes on. The moduation meter operates as well as the crystal calibrator. The carrier strength meter is dead and there is no output. I know nothing about solid state circuits. H**l, I'm not even comfortable with tubes yet!

Eric
Lake in the Hills, IL

Can you post the schematic? Or a link to it?

Sure. Here it is: http://www.freeinfostuff.com/E200D/E-200D.htm This gives a lot of info.

Eric
Lake in the Hills, IL

OK.