Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Just bought 37-620 want to get it working

Hi!
I am brand new to the Phorum.  I got a real nice Philco 37-620 at a flea market and I really want to get it working again.  I don't know much about electronics, although I do know the real basic stuff.  I bought new tubes for the slots that were empty, and I got new capacitors to replace the old paper ones.  I just got a new pencil type soldering iron just before we left for vacation (we are up high in the mountains in CO right now).  I have a nice schematic and I have been reading the posts on the Phorum that seem to be relevant to my radio.
Questions:
1.  Does it need an external antenna for short wave?
2.  One of the tube slots was covered up with an old piece of masking tape, which I removed.  It is the middle one on the left side of the chassis, looking at it from the back.  Doesn't it need that tube?
3.  On the top of the chassis, it has electrolytic capacitors in metal cans.  How do I replace the capacitors inside?
Thanks!
I'm sure I will think of  more questions after I start replacing capacitors.

welcome doc
replace all caps ,electrolytic`s and cord
you will have to look at schematic and trace wires to make sure you don`t short out some thing where tape is when you install tube
sam