Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Question about a 53-960

Before
[Image: http://www.pbase.com/david_3/image/15812...iginal.jpg]

After
[Image: http://www.pbase.com/david_3/image/15812...iginal.jpg]

I haven't quite figured out how I'm going to secure the electrolytic capacitors in the middle of the chassis.  They are much bigger than I thought they would be, and combined with the large resistors connected to positive end, it makes for a rather big package.  They wouldn't fit in the original location. Right now, they are hanging from a zip tie (which you can't see in this picture), and are fairly stable.  But I think I can do better.

This is my first attempt at recapping, so I'm just happy it works.  Icon_biggrin

Installed a fuse today, and am down to the last few items on the cabinet.  Might try to install the grill cloth tomorrow, and finish things up.

I wanted to see how it well it functioned on the short wave bands, so I fired it up for about an hour tonight. Since it is out of the cabinet I used a simple random length wire for the antenna.  I managed to pick up a number of Spanish speaking stations, one of which I believe may have been located in Caracas.  Not entirely sure about that though, since I'm not a fluent speaker. Also picked up WTWW out of Lebanon, TN (I'm in Texas).

The current draw is a steady 0.5 amps, which I guess is pretty normal for these radios.  That actually seems quite low to me, considering what some of the modern, amateur radios draw on receive.  But I'm not complaining.

Anyway, things are moving right along, and I just might be hooked on this new hobby.  My SSTran should be here tomorrow. Icon_biggrin

kekoa
nice and clean Icon_thumbup 
think every one here loves sstran  leave mine on 24/7
sam

Well, here it is (ignore the dust on top of the cabinet).  And it works, too.  Icon_biggrin

[Image: http://www.pbase.com/david_3/image/15815...iginal.jpg]

Next project...building the SSTran.