Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 95 Lowboy

Hello, all. I'm a newbe to the collector's world but have always admired old craftmanship. An electrician by trade, I just rescued this gem from the junk man. It's immaculate, complete, and well taken care of in someones living room for years. I've printed out the schematic to verify that the proper tubes are installed. It seems that the first number is dropped from what is printed on each tube. When I plug in the radio and turn it on, their is no sound. All 9 tubes, except for 1 of the 2 45 tubes light up. I'm"guessing" that means it is bad since the other 45 tube lights up. Also, this radio has 3 24A tubes in place of the 224 tubes indicated on the schematic. Also, a C-327 tube in place of 1 of the 3 227 tubes indicated on the schematic. I've located a source for replacement tubes. I'm looking forward to displaying this radio in my 20's era home, preferably in working condition. Unable to find a user manual of some sort so I can understand the function of the 2 controls on either side of the tuning dial. This is an early 95 lowboy, as it has the wooden cutout grille over the speaker/fabric. Any ideas? Thanks, in advance.

You will get this answer so it might as well be me. Dont Plug it in!

Nice find though and someone here can answer your questions.

WELCOME!

Kirk

Times I have been electrocuted in 2021
As of 1/01/2021
AC: 4 DC: 1
Last year: 6

Welcome to the Phorum!  As Kirk mentioned, dont plug it in again until you have replaced all of the electrolytic and paper capacitors as well as any out of spec resistors (which may be most of them).  The first number on the tube 227 is an older version of a 27 tube.  You can use the newer versions.  There are lots of posts and info on this web site that can help you and folks are very helpful with answering questions.  I'll post some links to helpful info when I get back to the computer.

OK here are some links that you should know about: