Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Rescuing a Philco... but which one? [With many pictures!]

Hi everyone-- I'm a new member, and it's all due to an interesting little Phillie that I found in a second-hand store that was having a closing sale this weekend.

Well, there was just something about this beauty that had been kept in such marvelous shape over the years that I just couldn't resist (and definitely couldn't let her be consigned to a scrap heap!), so now she's found a new home.

The problem is, there appears to be much lower interest in later Philco console models, at least on the Web, so I can't ID this one. And as you'll see from the pictures below, part of the ID sticker on the back label has been scraped off, and unfortunately, it was the part that contained the model number.

In any event, although I'm a restoration rookie, I do know enough not to just plug her into the wall and take my chances, so I'll need to track down a schematic and/or service manual for the unit... so if anyone can take a look at the pictures listed below, and let me know what I've got, I'd very much appreciate it.

By the way-- those aren't asbestos panels that are being used as heat shields near the big tube in the amp, are they...?

Thanks for any help you can give!!

-Kevin

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_front.jpg]

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_door_open.jpg]

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_turntable.jpg]

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_sticker.jpg]

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_insides.jpg]

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_amp.jpg]

[Image: http://www.kinescopes.com/philco_back_detail.jpg]

Hi and welcome.

I'm glad somebody likes that vintage of sets because the poor things need saving too! I like your avatar, haven't seen that screen in many years Icon_smile I guess you're fond of this era.