Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 19H weak/no reception

Hello folks, I rewound this oscillator transformer "tickler" coil and the radio is now alive! BUT, there is a very weak signal. I only have a piece of wire hanging off the thing for an antenna, but I was only able to get one station in, barely, with my volume cranked up to max, lots of static otherwise. I did an alignment and was able to peak the IF, antenna, detector, and high and low frequency trimmers. I only get a weak station on the uppermost band, around 1500KC. Any suggestions? All tubes check correct, but maybe there is a weak one? All caps have been changed, all resistors checked and changed so they are right on tolerance as per the schematic, all coils check good as well. Cold solder joint? Suggestions? Thanks!

PS- I'm still studying the shadowgraph- When I turn it on, there is a fine slit, and when it warms up, a wide, black rectangle that doesn't change, even with my weak station.

Good news. your shadograph is working, so don't touch it unless needed.

How are voltages on your 44 tube?
Check intergrity of transformer 8.

I am looking at this sch

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/PagesByModel...013153.pdf

If not this, give the link.

(01-13-2015, 09:23 PM)morzh Wrote:  Good news. your shadograph is working, so don't touch it unless needed.

Great, thanks for the advice, I'm glad I didn't mess with it, I think I will reflow some solder joints.

Hi, the voltages on the 44 tube are close to the chart on the schematic you and I are looking at- 200vdc plate to kathode; 104 Vdc s. Grid to kathode; .3 control grid, 5 vdc k to filament. However, I am getting -22vdc on the output tube- cg to kathode, where the voltage chart states 2.2 vdc?

Check 263 and 21 ohm sections on your 52 resistive divider.