Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

How to strip a Hippo?

Ok, here's the 48-460 I recently picked up. I'm new to this so my question is: Do I strip the paint or not?

What if anything will this do to the value? Is it like polishing an antique bronze lamp (ruins the value) or not?

I don't like it in the state it's in. My first thought was strip off the paint and enjoy it in it's naked state. My second thought was strip off the paint and repaint. My third thought was would it be better to 'touch-up" the paint.

Where the finish isn't chipped it's often flaking off. There is a crack on the side but it's a tight one and I imagine it can be glued easily.

What's a bakelite safe paint removal technique? What chemical strippers are recommended?

Your opinions are welcome.

John

[Image: http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/j...0_0725.jpg]
[Image: http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/j...0_0724.jpg]
[Image: http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/j...0_0723.jpg]
[Image: http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/j...0_0721.jpg]
[Image: http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/j...0_0720.jpg]
[Image: http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/j...0_0719.jpg]
[/url]

Paint stripper will easily work without damaging the bakelite. To stop that crack, I'd drill a small hole where the crack ends--that'll stop it in its tracks. Then you can fill and sand it with body filler.

Bill

So basicly any commercial paint stripper should work then? I'm not trying to be dense about it. I just don't want to watch it turn into a puddle of goo before my eyes.

Do you recommend/have experience with any particular stripper? I'm just looking to narrow down the field a bit.

Thanks

It will respond to auto body repair methods. I have gotten good results by wet sanding using 220-360, then finishing up with 400-600. With luck, you can reuse the Philco logo on the front.

Fibreglass, epoxy and body filler will fill cracks and chips after repairing as recommended above.