Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

removed cap, lost radio on my 41-608

Hello all, I sure hope I can get some help. While restoring my new Philco 41-608 i was cleaning the pots I noticed that there was a crackle and volume change whenever I touched a .002 MFD wax cap connected to the volume pot. I am a complete noobie when it comes to vintage electronic repair but I am familiar with guitars and their tone circuits. Decided to remove the capacitor that was causing the vol/crack issue. Wired it back with straight wire. Thing sounds amazing now! But the radio which worked fine now doesn't even try to work. My question is did my radio function Dependant on that missing cap? I also replaced the power wire out to the wall socket. Contact cleaner cleansed everything. The phono works. The iPod jack I wired to the phono preamp works and everything sounds great! The antenna is connected but nothing on the radio side works. Any help will help!

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/PagesByModel...013433.pdf

Is this the sch?
What is the cap's position number? Is it #56?
Does your "wired with straight wire" mean you shorted the wire across where the cap was before?
If yes,

PS. It benefits everybody not to touch and mod circuitry one does not uderstand how it works. First understand it, then try to fix it.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

(03-01-2015, 09:45 PM)morzh Wrote:  What is the cap's position number? Is it #56?

YES its that one into the resistor. Kept the resistor

Quote:Does your "wired with straight wire" mean you shorted the wire across where the cap was before?

YES! Thats what I did.

Quote:It benefits everybody not to touch and mod circuitry one does not uderstand how it works. First understand it, then try to fix it.

Good advice, I didn't know what I don't know. Thought i understood the circuit. Thought won't