Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

mica capacitor disease in 46-350

Newbies experience with 46-350 Philco Radio. Actually I have been dabbling for 40 years, but am approaching retirement and have found restorations a relaxing hobby. For about $25 (delivered) you can get one of these great wooden AC/DC and battery portables on Ebay. Talk about sensitive, they have an RF amp in addition to the the AA5 lineup of the day. We're talking 1946, although there are a many 1948 models out there as well and they are about the same.

So I got my first specimen, and immediately replaced "all" the caps except the micas, and even dutifully dug out the gunk of the filter caps and stuffed them. Tubes were OK, and the cabinet needed TLC, actually it looked rough. By the way, if the leatherette is bad, you can carefully peel it off, sand and stain the sides to agree with the front, and finish with laquer or shellac. The side wood is soft, and what I did was cover it with grain filler, lightly sand it, and then took some oil artist's paint and dabbed on color and blended it.

It played beautifully for a week or two. Then, started to fade into nothing a minute or two after powering up. I thought the cathode capacitor to the 3LF4 was bad, even though it was a new one and was stuffed into the can, and disconnected it and jumped a new one in it's place. Well, I missed by one terminal strip and managed to destroy 3 of the six tubes. Thank God I don't do this for a living. After a new 3LF4, 1T4, and of course the 1S4, the radio played, but was picking up only a few stations, and behaving badly. Now I know what to do with the second specimen I picked up, a 1948 model, and I converted to 6 volt tubes. It plays poorly, and there is trouble in the converter circuit. I'll be opening up that same coil and inspecting Mr. 10 mmf next weekend.