Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 70 Speaker Options ...

All,
I picked up a Philco 70 with a bad field coil. I'm new to tube radios, and after some research, it looks like the field coil cannot be easily removed to be rewound (let me know if this is wrong). In order to move forward, I'll be hooking up a PM speaker (to use while finishing the chassis work), while looking for a good original (let me know if you've got one).

I've got a few good 8 ohm speakers, and I probably need to build a test speaker for use in the future anyway. I know that I need to get a universal OPT, and it looks like there are some choices from Hammond. Here are my questions:

1) For the purposes of troubleshooting this radio (and potentially other desktop radios), what wattage should I aim for? I was thinking 5W would probably be adequate. This still looks like a $40 - $50 purchase.
2) Has anyone tried this much lower cost ($5 ... too good to be true) alternative: http://schmarder.com/radios/misc-stuff/t-725.htm

It looks to me like this OPT could be used for matching; I have my doubts about performance, but for troubleshooting ... thoughts?

M100C

Since you are talking in terms of a temporary xfmr for testing you can use most any xfmr like a 6.3v filament xfmr, a number of wall wart varieties and so forth. If the question were about a long-term solution I wouldn't say that. Output transformer of any ilk will not prevent you from testing your radio and sallying forth with the restoration. Get 'er working first.

About the field coil. No problem in having a pro rewind it, in fact thats probably the best option but you still need to have some equivalent in the circuit for the aforementioned testing and that means an offboard choke or something.

The two go together in that respect. You need the field coil AND the AF output xfmr to make it work. There's plenty of workarounds...some, ahem, more 'temporary' than others.