Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Tube tester covered with Tolex

I have a tube tester I am restoring that has a wood cabinet covered with the Tolex. I have zero experience with this, so I am hoping for some tips before I grab the glue bottle and start smearing. I don't know if it would be best to try to simply re-glue the existing tolex or rip off and replace.

If I could find the place called "Somewhere", I could find "Anything" Icon_confused

Tim

Jesus cried out and said, "Whoever believes in me , believes not in me but in him who sent me" John 12:44

I would just re-glue for simplicity and for originality.   If when lifting up a section to apply glue it feels like the whole piece will easily peel off you might want to do that.  Then you can glue the whole piece back on.  

John KK4ZLF
Lexington, KY
"illegitimis non carborundum"

There is absolutely no reason to re-cover. Spray adhesive on both pieces, wait a few seconds and bond.

I have saved many coverings this way..

The one below was peeled half way off all around...

Me

Times I have been electrocuted in 2021
As of 1/01/2021
AC: 4 DC: 1
Last year: 6

Other then the glue letting go near the edges the oil cloth/leatherette looks like it's in fairly good shape so I would try gluing it back down rather then recovering the case, recovering the case would be close to performing a re-upholstery job. It may be a good idea to clean under the areas that are lifting before gluing them back down, glue doesn't stick well to dirt and dust. 
Regards
Arran

It feels like the rest of it is pretty tight on there. I have some Tolex glue and I also have some spray glue. I think I will try the tolex glue 1st and see what kind of result I get. Looks good Kirk! Thanks for sharing! Got some rusty hinges and clips to deal with also.

If I could find the place called "Somewhere", I could find "Anything" Icon_confused

Tim