Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Introduction and Radio Help

Hi Everyone,

My name is Mike and I am from State College, Pa. I recently found this forum and it looks like a good place to learn more about Philco Radios. I am fairly new to radio collecting, although I've had an interest in the history of radios for much longer.

My wife recently bought me my first radio project, and I thought I would seek some advice from the group. I am a novice at this, and I still have a lot to learn, but I do have some electronic experience, and a brother who is an electrical engineer who can help me as I work on this project.

But before I even go there, I wanted to show you the radio and ask for help in identifying it. I cannot find any tags on it that would identify the radio, but I've been educating myself on them, and it looks I have an 18b with a different chassis. The chassis has 7 tubes and it looks like it might be out of a model 70.

The cabinet is in really nice shape other than a piece of veneer missing on the top left and two holes that have been drilled for the replacement chassis. Any opinions on what is the best approach to repair that?

Anyway, I have bunch of questions that I'd like to ask input on but I will leave it there for now. Any input you can give on identifying the cabinet and chassis would be appreciated. And thanks for the opportunity to be a part of the forum.

Mike

Note from site admin: Sorry, but the photos which were attached to this post are no longer available.

Hi Mike, and welcome!

Yes, unfortunately, you have a Model 70 chassis stuck into an 18B cabinet, and with different knob holes drilled into the front panel to boot. Don't you love it? It looks like it still has the original speaker from the 18B; an original Model 70 speaker looks much different.

Thank your wife profusely and take her to dinner - so many women could care less about radios, so you have a special lady.