Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

37-650PX for a newbie

Hi everyone, i am new to restoration and this forum and recently came into acquiring a 37-650PX which is the 37-650 with a 78rpm turntable on the top. Power cord is horrible and will need to be replaced but have not taken anything apart yet, kind of apprehensive about taking it apart until i learn more of about dissassembly of this unit. Do not want to break anything. i would love to learn to restore but also worried i might destroy it. If anyone has recommendations on ease or restorers who can help in the future let me know.

This was a Xmas gift from my wife since i have always wanted a Philco and she found one from a guy for 50 bucks in very good cabinet shape. look forward to learning on here and hopefully getting the electronics restored.

from what i am told this turns on but the powercord is so bad i don't feel safe plugging it in.

Well...you will need a standard electronics kit: soldering, multimeter, pliers-cutters, wire and such. Then you need the sch: a so-so readable is on the Nostalgiaair.org site, good one is bought from Chuck Schwark. Then you start and we help.
Welcome!

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

You are right to not plug it in and turn it on.  You could easily cause damage.  This being your first restoration, I'm going to point you in a few directions and ask you a few questions.  Others will surely add to the conversation as well.  Here's some info in your model from Ron's gallery: http://www.philcoradio.com/gallery/1937a.htm#au

First question, how familiar are you with electricity, ohms law, resistors, capacitors etc.?
Second, do you have a voltmeter/ohm meter and do you know how to use it?