Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Differences between 46-200 and 48-200

First of all, thank you guys for having this forum. I've been able to learn a lot about Philco tube radios by reading through your forums.

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Brian, and I live in Oklahoma City. I'm new to collecting tube radios, but have been collecting and repairing vintage Panasonic transistor radios. I decided to go for a particular bakelite Philco tube radio because of fond memories of my grandfather's Philco.

I purchased a 46-200 that has been electronically restored. The case is good, though not restored. The radio doesn't have a back panel, and I would like to buy one. I have found back panels for the 48-200 on Ebay, but not the 46-200. To my untrained eye, photos of the 46-200 and 48-200 make them look to be similar.

Is it possible to fit a 48-200 back on the 46-200?

As a curiosity, are the electronics on the 46-200 and 48-200 similar?

I know the 46-200 was a low-end radio, but I wanted the rotary dial. When the radio arrives from Virginia, I will use my SSTran AMT3000 transmitter so I can listen to standards and oldies through the Philco.

Thanks for any input.

Brian

Hi Brian, and welcome.

Ah, you're in OKC...close to that d**ned KRMG in Tulsa that's always interfering with AM 740 from Toronto at night. But hey, that's not your fault. Icon_smile

The cabinets of Models 46-200 and 48-200 are the same, so the Retro-Tronics back should fit both models.

Oh, and you don't have to go through eBay, you can buy these direct from the manufacturer.
http://retro-tronics.com/sales.php?type=All
Also listed on my site's Resources page.

The electronics of Models 46-200 and 48-200 are indeed similar; not exactly alike, but close.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Thanks for the info about my 46-200.