Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 60 restoration

This radio I got when visiting Skip with Terry last weekend.
Actually the only thing I bought there.

Skip said there is  a potential problem with one of the coils.
Otherwise the radio is very clean, the underchassis is unmolested, the cabinet is refinished and is nice though there are some marks but not too bad to warrant another refinish.

I decided I would not be making initial photos, nothing much to show.

I restored a 66 a year or so ago, so 66 and 60 being essentially the same radio with a tad different bands, I could say I have some experience with this one.

Will start with checking the speaker (the cone seems pristine) - transformer, coil and such; then RF coils; then start the recap.

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymodel...013793.pdf

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

See my thread Philco ID .. It will tell you what I did..

Hope I measured the coils wrong and They are not open...

Skip...

Mike, the 60 has a bunch of modifications over several years...all nicely documented by Ron including schematics of the various versions so you can easily figure out which one you have.

Thanks Skip. Could you provide the link?

Bob, mine is 121.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Sure..

http://philcoradio.com/phorum/showthread.php?tid=15763

Skip...

Well. Antenna transformer had two opens: antenna side the 0.7 ohm to GND and the secondary - the lower last 1 ohm section.
The wire was badly corroded so I guessed the number of the latter to be 6 turns and the former I was able to count as 24 turns. Tracing took some time.

Now I think the osc coil is also open.

Tomorrow.