Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Found and Now Restored Model 70

Well, I went looking for either a case for my model 70 chassis or a chassis for my 18b case and wound up finding someone not too far from me who was selling a complete model 70 for a good price. I think I'm going to work on this first while I continue to look for an original chassis for my 18b.

I also had a question. I am new to radio restoration, and I think from reading comments on the phorum that the first thing I should do is probably replace the caps. I was comparing this chassis (pic attached) with my other model 70 chassis, and I noticed that one of the Bakelite capacitors is different. According to the specs sheets I have, the model 70 should have a Bakelite capacitor with number 3903-J installed. The chassis currently in my 18B does have this, but the Model 70 that I just bought has a 3903-L (see picture with the arrow). This block also has what looks like a capacitor soldered onto the outside of it.

Has anyone seen this before? Everything else on the in the chassis seems to match up with the early Model 70 receivers.

Note from site admin: Sorry, but the photos which were attached to this post are no longer available.

Hi Mike,

That's a nice old radio you have there. It's a hard radio for most beginners to tackle. Take your time and visit philcorepairbench.com on how to rebuild the bakelite blocks. The cap on the side of the bakelite block is likely a vintage repair. Common sight on radios of this vintage.

Richard

Sounds like you did good Mike. That is an exceptionally clean chassis.

Phil aka Philbert Q. Desenex - Twin Cities, MN

Thanks Phil, I actually cleaned it up a little before taking the pics, but it does appear to be in really nice shape. The woman that sold it said it belonged to her father, and he had had it for years with the intention of fixing it up. It seems to be pretty original.