Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Any IDea what this is???

I've scanned the gallery and don't see it -- not even sure if it's a Philco or not. Being sold in an estate auction tomorrow and, obviously, has made a good place on which to store/hide crap... Icon_eek

Please let me know if you know what it is. Thanks in advance.

"Ignorance is bliss...'til you have to fix a radio..."

It is a Victor, and appears to be an RE-45 if I'm not mistaken. Doug Houston could fill you in on more details, I'm sure.

I used to own an RE-45; it is now owned by a friend of mine who restored it completely, radio AND phonograph, and it plays very well.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Thanks, Ron. I did some searching and you're right. I've seen varying info on the web about the value, or often lack thereof, of the radio/phono combos. But, I'm still a novice at this. I'm going to go look at it and see what all is inside and overall condition. Are these very collectible?

I think I sent this question too soon, my apology if so. I did some more research and seems this model isn't very valuable due to the high production numbers. But, if I get it for $20 or so...... Icon_wink

When purchasing something such as this, one must also consider the intangibles in the equation: namely, the joy it can bring you; the irritation of trying to fix it; thrill of the chase; the explanations to one's spouse about hauling another "carcass" home... Icon_lol

Fortunately, my roommate's folks have given me the two old radios I have, so he can't say diddly-poo about it.

DeckApe Wrote:...the explanations to one's spouse about hauling another "carcass" home... Icon_lol
I guess I'm not alone on this one. This is probably the one reason why I don't yet have a console radio to restore. Table radios and portable radios are fun to collect, but I am ready to move to something bigger. Icon_exclaim