Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

38-17 can caps rebuild

Hello,im new to this hobby so please bare with me,my first restoration is a 38-17,ive read how to rebuild bakelite blocks so iv'e got that covered,im having a problem with the can cap,i cant find out to rebuild this one its solid,no cap on it,3 wires out the bottom,green,tan,blk #31 on the diagram of the 38-15,same chassis,right?,is there a procedure for rebuilding these solid cans,thanks for your help,Randy,...oh and great web site Ron,iv'e learned alot in a short time at least i think i have.

Those rectangular metal can caps can be cleaned out and re-stuffed the same way as the bakelite block caps.
Open the can tabs carefully and re-use the fiber "plate" but use new wire leads to the new caps. Glob of hot-glue will secure the cap(s).

Chuck

Thanks Chuck good to know.

Holy cow,replaced all caps ,rebuilt bakelite block,and it plays,how cool,all tubes tested fine,but low audio,and gets lower when it warms up,picking up very few stations,extended antenna seems not to help,any help would be great,this is my first rebuild,thanks

In order of likelyhood:

Poor tube pin to socket (Wiggle them a little while playing, see if the volume changes) Clean and retention the tube sockets, and tube pins.

Out of range resistor that goes further out of range or opens when the set warms up. There aren't very many of them, and they are cheap and easy to replace. Replace all of the carbon resistors in the power supply and audio output sections.

A diseased mic capacitor in rf or if section. They may be hiding in the IF Coils. Again, cheap and easy to just replace e.

Other (coil opening up or cold solder joint, grime remaining in one of the adjustable trimmer capacitors)

Other other ?? Have to work backwards from the speaker. Somewhere between the speaker and the antenna there is a problem.

Keep us up to date!

thanks,will let you know.