Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

1936 90c cathedral- smoking

I am new to the Phorum and also new to antique radios. Bought this refurbished/reconditioned mostly original 1936 90c Cathedral style a few years ago. It worked wonderfully for about a year and then began to smoke. I am unsure how to try and figure out the problem. I have been looking for someone to consider repairing. I live in southeast michigan just out side of Ann Arbor.

Im interested in either getting some guidance on how to try and determine the problem. Probably having an expert do the work would be best option.

Thanks for any advice and suggestions.

Bill

If you are lucky, you have a bad (shorted) rectifier tube and you have not killed the power transformer.
Check the tubes.
Without any tubes installed (unplugged, discharged) check for short after the rectifier.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Bill,
Welcome to the Phorum Icon_wave

Your radio needs some repairs that requires someone who is familiar with antique radios, unless you want to spend the time to learn about repairing and restoring antique radios. Here's a beginners page that Phil Nelson has put together just for some information: https://www.antiqueradio.org/begin.htm

There is a Michigan Antique Radio Club that is reasonably close to you where you may find someone to help you in person: http://www.thevee.org/

If you want to explore trying to fix it yourself you will need a good volt-ohm meter, a soldering gun or iron and lots of patience. Read through some of the restoration threads in this phorum to get a feel for what folks have done and then start a thread in the "electronic restoration" section with your questions and postings as you start the repair. Folks here will be happy to help you along the way. Be careful...once you start restoring radios it becomes a habit and radios seem to find their way to your door!

Bob,