Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Scott items

Hi all.

While collecting I've seen many brands of stereo items but not a lot made by HH Scott. I've been collecting Fisher and McIntosh for several years but in my collecting/hunting I don't run into a lot of Scott gear. I've seen a few of the smaller amplifiers but never the larger, more powerful ones so when I saw a Scott 296 integrated amplifier for sale I bought it. Recently I found a Scott 355 tuner/pre to use as a tuner with the 296. When looking for a tuner I wanted a Scott that fit the large "G" chassis cabinet to match the 296. The rare and expensive 4310 is out of the question as they usually sell in the $4000 range which to me is crazy for a tuner. The 355 was the perfect solution and both items sound wonderful and look great together. I'm now getting really hooked on the look and sound of Scott gear.

Anyone here on the forum have any HH Scott gear?

I had an opportunity to buy an H.H Scott tuner amplifier from 1968 about a year ago, until I looked up the model number and found out it was an entry level unit. H.H Scott kind of rubs me the wrong way, they manipulated the civil courts to prevent E.H Scott from selling products under their own name even though Edmond Humphrey Scott's company predated the latter by 20 years at least. H.H Scott must have joined Fisher in going downhill during the 1970s as I haven't seen anything of note with the name newer then that. Apparently they were bought by whomever owns the Emerson brand in 1985, so I guess they really went to garbage after that, much like DuMont did before them. I can't explain the prices some of this stuff manages to get, like Fisher their tube tuners appear to use Miller/Automatic K-Trans IF transformers, pretty much bog standard coils.
Regards
Arran

I don't have any H.H. Scott gear.