Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Replacing Philco 42-322 Radio power cord

Hi, everyone,

I have slowly been working on an old Philco Model 42-322 radio. One of the things I'm learning about these radios (through videos) is that it might be wired to the chassis. Either using a polarized cord or a three-prong cord. Looking at the schematic, it doesn't seem to be wired directly to the chassis and a continuity check on the plug and chassis doesn't show any indication of it. The cord needs to be replaced anyhow, so I wanted to know how other people have corrected the issue if it exists. I'm fairly new to soldering, and restoring radios, so you might have to simplify things for me.

Thanks for any help you can provide me. 

Have a great day. Icon_smile
Patrick.

the wide tang of the cord will terminate as shown on the schematic.
the narrow tang of the cord will terminate as shown on the schematic.

normally the voltage text / type on the schematic will be placed near the hot terminal.

if you are guessing.. follow the one wire on the schematic that looks like it hits chassis ground right off the bat, that means the other wire is the hot leg.

the molded rubber cords have two runs and the one with a side bump on it or detent is typically the ground,, actually its the neutral leg. this was a standard from the 70's for folks with blindness, they can feel which way the plug goes to get it correct. later on the wider N leg tang was introduced.

if your outlet is bass akwards,,, it will need to be corrected. the silver screw terminal is "N", the goldish looking screw terminal is L1.

if your cord plug tangs are e

Klondike has a series of notes on his resto for this set, maybe he can give you the link. 

Paul

Tubetalk1