Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Enormous model 62 (2 24A,s 1 27 2 71 A)

Hello All. I have been collecting radios for a few years .At first it was 1940's and 50's radios and phonographs.But then I discovered these enormous late 1920's early 30's consoles.(chassis)I absolutely love globe tubes (totally different from shoulder style etc.!!)Anyways I recently aquired a rusty old 24 inch long chassis(unknown model)It has star shaped tube socket punchouts and was told this probably was a Philco.So I looked it up in a book (Radio set socket guide 1921-1935) and found actually under "Philadelphia storage battery co." a model 62 with the same tube layout 2 24A ,1 27, 2 71A ,1 80 tubes.Is there anyone out there who is familiar with this chassis and who could give me some tips on restoring it?I think it may have those block capacitors under the chassis.I definitely want to keep the interstage transformers and chokes etc. original even if I have to rewind them.Also can a Philco model G electrodynamic speaker with output transformer be used with 71A's push pull?One more thing about the paper capacitors in the power supply.Is it known if the tar or pitch in the capacitor can could have a high sulphur content etc. causing deterioration of the capacitors?I do not want to replace these if I do not have to,at least not right away ,of course I will put a fuse or fuses under the chassis and any radio this old I run in series with a 200 watt lightbulb and never leave unattended when playing.I will also be restoring a model 20 later on. Thanks for any info on this.