Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

CABINET TOP REFINISHING QUESTION

I am a complete novice restoring a Philco 3650.  The top needed refinishing (lacquer had lifted in places, there were water marks and other blemishes) and so I have sanded it down to bare wood using a variety of papers ending with #400 steel wool and then #400 paper).  Now, I have always thought that when you swiped a wet cloth over the natural stained wood you would see pretty well the appearance one would get after applying lacquer or urethane.  Problem is that, while wetting the wood brings it up exactly like it was before sanding, applying a wee bit of urethane on a small spot does not produce anywhere near the desired finish.  I have not done this with lacquer yet-might it make a difference?.  But I am wondering what I am missing here-perhaps I need to apply a light coat of stain?

BTW, can anyone tell me what type of wood this cabinet top might be?  It certainly would help to know this if I need to apply some stain.

Willy

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

I believe you have a Canadian model that would be equivalent to the US model 650B (assuming you have the table top version). See: http://philcoradio.com/library/index.php...ex-canada/

A good picture of a 650B can be found in the Philco Gallery: http://philcoradio.com/gallery2/1936a/#Model_650B

Almost everyone on this phorum would say never use urethane to finish these radios. It it terribly hard to remove if an error is made and when time to refinish again. Lacquer is easily stripped and redone and is the product that was originally used on these sets.