Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Starting on a Model 41-285 Code 121 Dream/Nightmare

Hi again to everyone on the Phorum. I'm new to the Phorum. I've repaired power supplies for tube amplifiers for Amateur Radio use and for a transmitter and a receiver but it will be a new endeavor to work on this Philco. I am starting on my Grandparents Philco Model 41-285 code 121 radio. I'll try and get some pictures posted soon as soon as I figure out the best way to do so.

Anyone familiar with this model knows the rubber wiring needs to be replaced, although there is a lot of wiring that appears okay and is cloth covered. I was not expecting to see the cloth covered wiring which I believe to be original wiring. I do plan on replacing or sleeving all the rubber coated wiring to avoid any future problems with cracking or crumbling. This will also involve the wiring in the band switch, which appears to only have rubber coated and crumbling wiring.

I am not looking to restore this to exactly how the chassis looked when new, but want to restore it to working condition. I have not heard this radio since the mid 1950's.

I say this is a dream/nightmare radio because there have been repairs done in the 1940's-1950's and a relative had someone "tinker" with it to surprise me with a working radio. I am unsure of what the tinkerer actually did and since the capacitors weren't replaced, I do not intend to plug it into line voltage. An inline fuse has been added to the chassis, but there is no polarized cord, so I believe if it were plugged in, even with a blown fuse, the chassis could be hot. 

I can see the on-off push button switch has been completely disconnected and there is no continuity with the switch when the on/off pushbutton is pressed. There has been an on-off volume potentiometer wired to turn on the radio and also adjust the volume.