Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 37-650 electronics help
Photo 

Thank you for letting me join the forum. I have a love affair for the Philco 37-650, as it is the radio I grew up with. My twin brother and I would listen to Big Jon and Sparkie while my father would listen to Jack Benny. We would scan the newspaper radio schedule listings to see when special programs (like “No School Today”) would come on and then set our wind up alarm clock so we would not miss anything.  Alas, the 37-650 faded in oblivion as newer radios and TVs came more common but the memories never faded. The 37-650 grew old and sick and sat unused for decades.  It is now time for me to bring it back to life.

I am an amateur in electronics and try to learn more every day. I have read just about every article on the web about the 37-650 and am now about to attempt restoration. I hope lovers of this particular model will be able to continue to aid me in my quest.
In my exploration I have found that the chassis is 95% original and a few repairs appear to have been made, perhaps in the 1950’s. Visual inspection showed no burnt, melted or otherwise damaged parts. All the capacitors appear to be original Philco brand save for one. 
My initial test was to check for any shorts; this was done with a check of the windings of the transformer then a careful “power up” with a light bulb in series with the AC input. To my surprise nothing blew up or caught on fire!.  Local AM stations came in though faint. There was a 120 cycle hum (not unbearably loud but annoying.) The indicator lights were not functioning so I bought some new bulbs and repaired the light sockets for the dial and shadow meter.  I also purchased a tunable loop antenna (tecunAN-200) and, as the radio was in my 1929 one car garage, I made a local “earth ground” by tapping into an old 1 inch water pipe I could see thru a two inch crack in the concrete floor.