Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Newbie Questions Model 610

I am a total newbie but I have a Philco Model 610 that was given to me and I would like to restore it.  My background is woodworking, not electronics, so I take no offence to advice given to me but you may have to bear in mind that your replies will have to take into account my ignorance in electronics. I want to do it correctly and have been reading up on what not to and what to do to restore a radio. 

I downloaded the schematic and started to make a list of caps and resistors that I would require. I have noticed some additions/deletions from my radio compared to the schematic that I would appreciate some advice on. All #’s are taken from the parts list for this model

Pic 1 shows no #24 - 400 ohm flexible resistor and no 3rd tab on the #23 bakelite block to solder it onto if it is required. There is also a 30-4145 .05 mfd cap there that’s not on the schematic.

Pic 2 shows 3 caps that aren’t on the schematic - 30-4020 .05 mfd which goes from either ground or #57 wire wound resister to #36 condenser block, a 30–4145 .01 cap which appears to go from the tone control switch either to ground or the same #57( hopefully the photo clarifies to you all as to whether that is part of #57 or ground) and a 30-4113 .02 (you can’t see it in the photo, it is hidden under the 30-4145) which goes from the same spot on the tone control switch and is soldered to a wire that goes to a pin on output tube 42. 

Pic 3 shows a 30-4020 .05 cap that again is not on the schematic. It goes from the connection for BLK antennae to the #15 condenser block. 

I realize these questions are probably basic to most people but it is confusing to me. I can solder well and have no problem replacing all the caps and resistors but I don’t know about the changes from the schematic to my radio. Should I restore it to the schematic or as it is now?