Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

The (other) "P" word

Guys,
Picked up a 38-610. Nice condition but...
Someone put polyurethane on it Icon_evil

I see there are some poly strippers (chemical) out there and will probably approach this direction.
Thought I would see if anyone has good, bad or ugly experience with poly removal.
Looking for feedback.
Thanks

I use stripper alot . I build for a living . Put stripper on let it set until it bubbels good . Then take a putty knife go with grain scrape it off.
On trim and moulding i use course steel wool . Be careful on veneer stripper will get under it if its loose any where.
Some people will just sand after they strip i like to rinse all with paint thinner ,then sand .
Then apply sanding sealer , stain then top coat . Let dry steel wool ,wipe down .Apply another coat , steel wool again ,coat again slick as glass.
OH fine steel wool . MAKE SURE YOU WEAR RUBBER GLOVES EYE PROTECTION WELL VENTILATED AREA Icon_exclaim
Denver.

Thanks Denver
Strip without getting paid to...hmmm
I'll try it! Icon_redface

So what do you think about Scotch Bright pads vs Steel wool? Doesn't leave small wires in the cracks and crevices.
Thoughts?
Terry

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Save old tooth brushes when you change them (and you should every 6 months.) If you must resort to steel wool, use a magnet (salvage this from a wrecked speaker) to pick up the debris.

FWIW, I much prefer the Scotchbrite pads over steel wool.