Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average

Philco 46-1201 Code 121

Hey phorum, I'm looking for help on replacing a cap that I can't seem to find, I'm also very new too this and don't understand the schematic's and I can't find the schematic for this code of radio. The cap has the numbers 30-2546 or 45 but the closes I can find are 30-2548 or 47. I also want an rca phono and 3 quarter inch jack installed but am unsure on how too proceed on where and how to install, I would also like to get the turn table too play 45 rpm record's but I also don't know how to proceed either.

Thank you - Raven

updated with photos.

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

I sent an email to you with some thoughts on that cap part number and I sent a schematic. the code 121 version is the first version of the model. What other parts of the radio is the cap you are looking at connected to? this will help identify it on the schematic.

Greetings, Raven !
Welcome to the Phorum. You say you are a complete novice to all this, and cannot yet read schematics. That is a fundamental skill you will need, and is not all that difficult to acquire. There are a number of parts symbols which you will have to memorize. I highly recommend the book Audel's Radioman's Guide by Edward P. Anderson. It will not only teach you these symbols, but give you a good grounding in the electronics used in these sets. It is written for everyday people, not for the technically advanced, and is an ideal beginners book for those interested in antique radios and their restoration. It is available online here:
https://archive.org/details/Audels_Radio...9/mode/2up