Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

655 restoration

I am looking forward to learning more about Phrank's guts, and cleaning and upgrading (the caps especially).

I'm a mechanical engineer with a vague understanding of electronics. In my high school electronics shop course in 1974 (yes that was a thing), I even built a simple tube radio- hand-bent the chassis box, soldered all the bits, etc. I wish I still had that radio, but especially the textbook from that class! It explained all the tubes and stages at a high school level, perfect for me.

The 655 schematic here shows a phono jack (or switch? It's an unknown symbol to me), a pick-up, and a phono-motor... none of which are present on mine. There is an unused knockout on the back of the chassis (circled below), maybe the right size for a jack...

Attached Files Image(s)

I mentioned missing my high school electronics text book... this might be useful:

https://www.google.com/books/edition/Bas...gqAQAAIAAJ

Attached Files Image(s)

All the caps? Are there any I don't need to worry about?

Found this- great info on the capacitors for a beginner like me:
https://www.justradios.com/captips.html

Well, I know it IS. It's not broken and the indicator light is visible through it. But are the available repro dials "better" than what this looks like?

Attached Files Image(s)

Your dial is just fine the way it is. Noyt just OK, it is very good. Some cleaning might take some dirt off.
The sole dial I bought was 37-116, and no, it was not only not better, but worse, inaccurate and even lacked the notch. Had to file the inner part. Maybe it is better today, but to me undamaged original is as good as it gets.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

thnx!

If you clean the dial, do NOT use water or any water based cleaner. Doing so will remove the markings.

Steve

M R Radios   C M Tubes

Voice of experience? Icon_surprised