Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 38-10 faux finish?

I just obtained a 38-10 that although quite dark, the cabinet is in good shape. Is the 38-10 a model that has the faux finish? I’m not experienced enough to tell from just looking at it and I don’t want to do anything to it until I know.

Attached Files Image(s)

Sure looks like it. I've wiped them down w/a soft cloth and oms to clean off dirt and smoking residue. And then resprayed w/sanding sealer (a few coats). Do any t/u work and respray w/gloss. Looks like new.

GL w/your new project!

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Hello Phil27,
Yes it is faux finish I have that exact radio in my collection and it is my next project for a full chassis restoration my cabinet is in great shape !

Sincerely Richard

Just for future reference, our library has a list of the photofinish models. See:
https://philcoradio.com/library/index.ph...otofinish/

Thanks very much. I’ll clean it up as best I can. Appreciate all the replies!

Hey Bob,

That's pretty slick! That's the trick abt the library you gotta know where to look to find the right stuff.

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

It's very likely dark because of layers of dirt, wax, oil, maybe even tobacco tar on the cabinet, GoJo cream hand cleaner, the non grit type, does a good job for cleaning dirt from wood cabinets, and many other things too.
Regards
Arran

Hello Phil27,
Here is a Photo of mine !
Since this photo I bought a escutcheon outer ring from Ebay this is my next project to hit the bench the chassis has not been restored yet .