Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

46-1226 code 122 no am or shortwave good phono,, i fixed it

hope you can help i have a 46-1226 code 122 i replaced all caps and resis including electrolytic, the radio did not work when i bought it the voltage are 25v high on the 3 test sites on the electrolytic the phono works OK all tubs are good i have run out of things to ck
i am new at this is my first one can you give me a hint on what to look for
thanks
john

Hi John,
Took a quick look at the diagram of your set and you have a lot of possibilities for it not to work! I think the easiest way is to do some troubleshooting on each stage of the set to see what is or isn't working. You said that the phono is working so we can probably rule out the audio stages as a problem.
The next thing to check is the IF and detector stages. What you will need to do this is a signal generator. Can be an older analog job. Do you have one?
Terry

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Dirty/tarnished bandswitch contacts are highly like to be part of the problem, besides a possible open coil(s).

Chuck