Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Restoring Philco model 87

Hey Guys,

I am relatively new at this. I have repaired 4 radios, sort of basic early 50s table models, really without knowing very much about what I was doing. From reading forums like this one, I learned that the first thing you do is replace the caps..that's what I did on the first 4 radios and fortunately they all worked fine when I finished. I recently bought a model 87 at an estate sale. From the information I've found it was manufactured in the fall of 1929. The cabinet is in beautiful condition. It's missing 2 tubes which I'll address later on. I have not removed the chassis from the cabinet yet, but in looking into the radio from the back it looks radically different from anything I've seen. There are a couple of big metal enclosures that I can't identify. I guess my question is, are the caps similar to the caps in the later models, and is this project something that I should probably farm out to someone more knowledgeable and experienced? I really don't want to get into something over my head with this one. Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi and Welcome to the Phourm!
Well the Model 87 is a bit different from the '50's table radios. The good thing is electrically it's much simpler. It's a T tuned R radio F frequency set. Basically it amplifies the signal from the antenna through three amplifier stages (the first 3 #26 tubes). The #27 tube turns the amplified rf signal into audio. Next the #26 tube amplifies the audio signal to drive the two #45's in the audio output.
To service this old timer you will need to remove the filters caps and replace them. On this set they are in a metal can full of paper, aluminum foil, and tar. This will require you to remove the can, heat in an oven at 175deg for 20min or so till the tar is soft. Then pull all innards out. Replace with modern film caps. Note the small value like a 1 or 2 mfd. That's the worst of it. The rest is just the small paper caps.