Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Restoring a Philco 38-1

greetings to all:

I am a newbie to this list. A friend gave me an old 38-1 console that had been in his attic for years. It has sat in my garage for about two years, but I'm now working on restoring it. It's quite beaten up, but it appears to be mostly cosmetic (lots of scratches and scuffs, torn speaker cloth, missing back).

This model has a wheel in the front for selecting stations with a little handle for quick selecting them (I assume). There are dozens of little windows that used to have station letters in them; they've all been punched out.

My biggest concern is that the thing was working (albeit with a loud hum). Then it stopped. My guess is that it's related to the power switch which rotates clockwise, off, on, bass. I was using tuner cleaner and it's nice and smooth now, but no power Icon_sad

I checked the cord. Power is getting to the chassis, but that's it. The chassis doesn't "light up" (tubes, that is).

Any help is appreciated.

Tony B. - Rochester, NY

Tony sounds like the electrolytic caps went. When they are on there way out you get a lot of hum on the speaker because they are the filter caps in the rectifier circuit. Suggest you do not power the set on any more before you replace the electolytics, you may damage parts that can not be replaced. The newer electrolytics should meet or exceed the rated voltage on old caps or the schematic and can be a little higher in mfd then old ones jbut try to styay within 20% and on the plus side. These caps have polarity markings and you have to be careful to follow them or you will do considerable damage to them and the set. Since the new caps are about one fifth the size of the old ones they can be mounted under the chassis or in the old cans. Make sure you disconnect the old ones if you hang them under the chassis. Pat